unKnitted

Sisters, Knitters, Sweater Recyclers

That’s Cool

One day last week, Karen asked if I could stop off at the yarn store to check and see if they had a pattern that she has been wanting.

She did not have to ask twice. : )

Well, turns out it was a no go on the pattern but I did make a exciting find….at least exciting to me cause…. well,  I really do not get out much.

 

The store had a posting at the front door about a sock of the month club. Now, I am not a sock knitter but a sock knitter wannabe. For some reason I just have not tried it yet. I feel as though I am not worthy to be called a sock knitter.

Anyways, so they had this posting and I was talking to Loretta and asked her about her club. We go back into the store and she shows me a box full of beautiful sock yarn. Just not in your every day, usual balls. To tell you the truth, when I first saw them I thought they were those things that you and your dog play tug o war with because they all were knotted in the middle.

I know, not the sharpest tool in the shed.

So we start looking at all the beautiful colours and I decide that YES, I can be a sock knitter and YES, I am going to buy some of this beautiful yarn.

Ok, ok, I did have a gift certificate burning a hole in my pocket but gosh, I wanna make socks too.

So, for those who have never seen this yarn before it comes from a company called Flat Feet or Conjoined Creations. It is very similar to recycling yarn. You start at one end and unravel as you knit the socks. You can just throw the yarn over your shoulder and unravel as you knit. HOW COOL IS THAT!!!!!  

One side for each sock. Loretta has a sock, with this yarn, on the needles and it was gorgeous.

 I figure if things do not go as planned with my socks, this beautiful yarn will look nice along with the two skeins of Socks that Rock that I have from the last time I thought I would finally be a sock knitter.

Oh well, they are nice to look at.

Kris

April 12, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. That is so cool! I’m glad to hear you’re finally ready to take the sock knitting plunge! :0)

    Comment by Charity | April 12, 2008

  2. Well, well,, well…now I’ve seen everything. Can’t wait to see em knit up.

    Comment by Renee | April 14, 2008

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Underpass
    .

    Comment by Underpass | June 18, 2008


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

