unKnitted

Sisters, Knitters, Sweater Recyclers

Saying Goodbye to Elsie.

Hello all – it’s been a while since I posted. I’ve been very busy doing taxes, recycling yarn – and of course knitting.

I spent the weekend knitting a couple of items for theHumane Society. We had to have our oldest cat put to sleep a couple of weeks ago. Her name was Elsie and she was a very special cat and friend to the entire family. Everyone is so sad without her. It’s a toss up who misses her more – Smokey (her cat brother) or Bear (her dog brother) – both have been mopey since she left.

cat-pad.jpg

Here she is the day before we took her to the vet. Wasn’t she a beautiful cat. I loved her eyes – they were a fabulous golden colour. On Saturday we went to the Humane Society to see if we could find a cat/kitten to add to the family. Although I had wanted to adopt a slightly older cat – most of them were noted as not being suitable for a family with a dog or a cat. We finally decided on a kitten they called Squirt. We are waiting to give him a new name – we just picked him up today so have not decided on a new name yet. He is very cute – and I will post pictures soon – he is just getting settled and I don’t want to scare him with the flash.

It made me so sad at the Humane Society to see all the animals without homes. I noticed some of the cat cages had little knitted pads in them for the animals. This touched me. I decided to knit a couple of things to donate to the shelter when we went to pick up Squirt. I found a lovely site with lots of patterns for making these pads or snuggles as they call them. Here is the one that I made:elsie.jpg

I also made this cat bed from Wendy’s pattern. I was so happy with how this turned out. I know that I will be making more of these!

cat-bed.jpg

I will try to post some of the other Fo’s I have soon.

I am eagerly awaiting to get my SP10 pal. I am so excited to be participating in this. I can’t wait.

Karen

March 13, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I am so sorry to hear about Elsie, it is so hard to lose a fur baby (((hugs))). She was very beautiful and I bet she thoroughly approves of your wonderful knits for the Humane Society.
    Your Secret Pal 10.

    Comment by SP10 | March 21, 2007


Leave a Reply

