unKnitted

Sisters, Knitters, Sweater Recyclers

What’s New

Well, here it is – Friday already and March Break is almost over. It really wasn’t that bad actually. I thought the kids would be constantly fighting but they were like two ships that passed in the night. They were hardly home at the same time. My daughter spent most of the week at her girlfriend’s house. My older son spent three days at Kim’s. I really felt bad because we didn’t take them anywhere but all and all they seemed to have fun this week. So life is good!!

Karen made a interesting discovery at our local Wal-Mart. It caused a wave of excitement amongst the three of us or so it seems as we all went there and bought some! lol
dsc02357.JPG dsc02358.JPG

Bernat, who makes yarn similar to Peaches & Creme, makes an organic cotton yarn!! It is softer then the Bernat Handicrafter in my opinion. It’s about twice the price of the Handicrafter but I can’t wait to make some dishclothes out of it. I bought four balls of it on Thursday – don’t tell my husband – but once in a while a girl has to treat herself….right?!

I am at a standstill with my Petunia Tote right now. Just waiting for the yarn doctor…..aka Karen, to pay me a housecall. As I was knitting a round yesterday something didn’t seem right to me but I thought maybe I was just being too picky. So I knitted two more rounds today and sure enough something definitely is not right. The stitches on that one round are really loose in one particular spot. It looks awful. So Dr. Karen is coming by to knit with me tomorrow night and she says she will have a look. I would go back and rip out the last 3 or 4 rounds but my skills only allow for the ripping out of maybe 10 stitches. I am really proud of myself though……pat shoulder…….the tote is looking awesome and I am happy that I am taking my time – something very new to me – and I can really tell the difference. And if I do say so myself, it looks GREAT!!! But I still have a long way to go.

Another thing I have been working on is my Debbie Bliss baby blanket.dsc02360.JPG

It’s a simple and easy knit. It’s the Garter Stitch Blanket out of Debbie Bliss’ Baby Knits for Beginners……beginners, hmmmm sounds about made for me!! I am knitting it out of non traditional baby colours. I chose a white, burgandy, pale green – is it sage maybe? -, a grey and a paprika colour. The yarn is Debbie Bliss’ Cashmerino Aran. Super soft! I need to make 56 squares and I think I have maybe 15 done so it will be a work in progress for quite sometime I would imagine. The thing I like about it the most is that you can whip up a square in about 1/2 an hour. Sometimes I really need to see that I am making some progress.
Now for some really exciting news………………I got my SP10 Secret Pal. Yahoooo!! I knew I would be getting her info sometime on Wednesday because my hostess emailed me that morning. I was so happy when it finally came….late, late that night. I won’t give any details in case she tracks me down but she seems like a nice lady and she blogs often so that is good. I also heard from my spoiler, who sent me a really friendly email.

So that’s about all for now but I wanted to give you all a peek at some recycled yarn I got ready this past week. It’s a gorgeous 100% Silk and the colour is just gorgeous.

dsc02355.JPG

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!! Don’t eat too much corned beef and cabbage and stay away from the green beer!!!! lol

Kris:-)

March 17, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. The new cotton looks great! I’ve been having fun putting together a package for you! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

    Comment by Secret Pal 10 | March 17, 2007

  2. I love that blanket. I have eyeballed it a few times, but sewing all those squares together makes my brain fuzzy. LOL

    Comment by Samantha | March 19, 2007


Leave a Reply

