unKnitted

Sisters, Knitters, Sweater Recyclers

Better Late Than Never!…

well here is my knitting milestone FINALLY!!!….I’m a bit delayed in the big announcement! But with work, then our mom getting sick etc…there is not ever enough days in the year to do everything you want to do – is there?

Now onto the milestone….bit of a background first – I’m not a newbie knitter but i’m not an intermediate knitter either, i’m somewhere in between. I have definitely gotten better since the summer I’m proud to say! But ever since I started knitting there was always something that I wanted to knit but I never could figure it out, for some reason the whole thing eluded me…now Karen can attest to this, as she gave me many and I mean MANY tutorials on it…but no luck….what am I talking about? Well i’m talking about SOCKS!!!…Yeppers..plain ole socks…I had NO CLUE on how to make them!! For years it drove me CRAZY!!!…All I wanted to do was to knit socks…!!! This past Xmas, Kristeen gave Cat Bordhi’s book on how to knit them on two circular needles…HAHA!! I said, I’m going to be a sock knitter!!…So I sat down and pored over the book – no luck! I packed up my attempts and went to Karen’s for one last ditch tutorial – no luck! So, I boxed up all my sock stuff and forgot about it. Then two months ago Kris and I bought some DPN’s for sock knitting….So a couple of weeks ago, I sat down and decided to try my hand again…and guess what??? NOPE NO SOCK!!! Could not do it…it didn’t help either when I lost one of my DPN’s (which I later found tucked inside of my sock yarn ball!!) So, I was giving up – one more time on the circulars I promised myself….so I knit up the cuff (by now I’m a cuff EXPERT!)…and I read the directions on turning the heel over and over again…and started to knit….and by the time the heel instructions were finished – I HAD DONE IT!!!….I HAD ACTUALLY DONE IT!!! The thrill of it all stills lingers with me!!!…Here’s a picture of the very first sock I have ever done!!..

here’s another view..lol…

isn’t it gorgeous??? lol…I’m working on the second one right now….the yarn is STEP by Austermann with Aloe Vera…it feels so nice!!…I LOVE THIS SOCK!!

Okay, okay, enough about the socks!!…I also finished this for my grandbaby..

The pattern is Monica and the yarn is Sonata by Elann – it was a great, easy knit and I loved how it turned out!

Right now i’m knitting a project out of the book Junior Knits by Debbie Bliss, that my SP10 pal sent to me – once I get a bit more done I will post my progress on it…

Have a great night everyone!

Kim

May 8, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Woohoo!!! You go girl!! i finally conquered my first sock in February and I know just how stoked you feel, lol. After I had finished 2 pairs on dpns I tried circs again and now that is my preferred method. I found an online explanation for how to do it that really helped (I have cat’s book too, but I relly need to see something being done to fully get it, lol). I will try to find it again and post the link.

    And I’m dying here looking at you grandbaby in her gorgeous ruffled cami – look at that baby puku (Maori for tummy, pronounce p

    Comment by SP10/Karen | May 8, 2007

  2. Well done! I knew you could do it. 🙂

    Comment by Your Secret Pal | May 8, 2007

  3. I love your Monica top. I’ve been thinking of making one for my daughter and I think you just nudged me from “thinking of it” to “putting on my shoes and heading out the door right now”.

    Comment by Renee | May 8, 2007

  4. Congrats on your first sock! It’s a slipery slope, they get really addicting and the magic trick of turning a heel never gets old. 🙂

    Comment by Beth | May 8, 2007

  5. I share your excitement in your milestone! I am still in awe of the first time I actually created a SOCK! Of all the things I have knit – that is my most amazing accomplishment! And yet some knitters take it for granted – go figure!

    Comment by Jane | May 9, 2007

  6. ooh pretty socks!!! cute tank too!! =)

    Comment by dorre | May 9, 2007


Leave a Reply

