unKnitted

Sisters, Knitters, Sweater Recyclers

New Books and I Have a Question

My birthday and Mother’s day are usually very close together and some years are on the exact same day. For my birthday I received an Indigo Book Store gift card from my wonderful sisters. Then, surprise, surprise I received another one from my hubby and kids for Mother’s day – ok I picked it out but I acted REALLY surprised. There were two knitting books that I wanted so I headed out to the Indigo not far from my house but they didn’t have them in stock. I checked out the store online and sure enough there they were.

dsc02434.jpg

I ordered one on a Friday and the other on a Sunday and I received both of them on Tuesday. Very quick and boy, I just love these books. There are some really nice projects. I can’t wait to cast on for one but I am trying to contain myself. I have way too many projects on the go so I will have to be content with just looking for now.

I also received this book recently.

dsc02435.jpg
I was in a goodie bag swap thru Swapbot and my partner, Livia, included this in with the bag. She really went out of her way and I am so thankful to her. The book is full of wonderful advice and tips for a beginner and there are also some cool patterns. These three and the great book that I received from my Secret Pal have doubled my knitting book library.

I can’t believe it but I have actually knitted all 56 garter squares that I need for my Debbie Bliss Baby Blanket. Now for the sewing………..ahhhhhh! Try as I might I could not convince Karen to sew them for me. Begging, pleading, crying……that girl must be made of stone…….lol. I have sewn three together so far and since this is my first project that requires sewing I have a question. I find that the outside edge of the squares are not lining up even. When it is all sewed and then blocked will this edge all line up or is this the way it is supposed to be?? I really want to know before I go any further so that if I am doing something wrong I can correct it before I get to far.

Have a wonderful Thursday and maybe Kim and Karen will come out and blog a little in the somewhat near future.

Kris :>)

May 31, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. These are all great goodies! I have all of these books, and find them very useful. SNB was the first knitting book I ever read, and I loved it.

    Comment by SP10/Kris | June 1, 2007

  2. Those are two of my favorite knitting books too. You will enjoy them!

    Comment by Jane | June 5, 2007

  3. I’m working the same blanket, and to be honest, I’m not sure. I have most of the squares seamed together, and I’m hoping to seam the strips this weekend and block. I’ll let you know if I figure out the answer to your question šŸ™‚

    Comment by jaya | June 16, 2007


Leave a Reply

