unKnitted

Sisters, Knitters, Sweater Recyclers

Some Actual FOs and Another WIP

During the time that I have not been blogging, I have done some knitting. I decided that Christmas was not really that far away so when I saw that Walmart had some Christmas yarn I snatched it up and made a few dishcloths for my older son’s teacher. I plan on making at least one more and doing up a little basket for her.

dsc02799.JPG
The one on the right is a simple stockingette. It is made out of Bernat’s Handicrafter Holiday Twists. I think I will also make a tribble out of this yarn to go in the basket. There was quite a lot of yarn in the balls – quite larger than the regular Handicrafter – so I might make a few. Now, I really love the pattern for the cloth on the left. I am not really sure how I came across it but I just love the way it looks. It is called the Double Woven or the DW dishcloth. For those of you who do not follow Nascar, DW is actually Darrell Waltrip, a former driver. The pattern was written by Rhonda White – who I guess is a DW fan…lol – and if you are interested it can be found here. The yarn for this one is also Handicrafter. Wow, not only did I do some Christmas knitting – for the first time – I actually have a Christmas present already. This is definitely a record for me!!

I guess I should mention that Kim celebrated her big 4-0 birthday on the 20th. In case anyone forgets who she is, she is the middle sister who has seemed to forget she shares a blog with her sisters. Hint, Hint. But anyway, Kim was away for her birthday doing some health and safety training but when she came back she actually brought Karen and I a present. She is the best! Here is what she brought back for me:

dsc02800.JPG
It is so beautiful and really soft. Kim has a super pattern for a sweater for my youngest that uses this yarn. So once I hopefully clear up some old projects I will be casting on for it.

Now for my new WIP. I had been a huge admirer of the Lizard Ridge Afghan but once I saw Renee’s I just knew I had to make one. Hers is fabulous! This is actually my second square but is my favorite so far. It is done in Noro Kureyon’s Number 154.
dsc02801.JPG

This was my introduction to short rows and they were not as difficult as I thought. It was actually fun waiting to see which colour would come out next…lol.

Last but not least, I finally received my Ravelry invite last week. Karen and Kim have already been in for a while. I have started to set up my profile a little, which has been kinda fun. If anyone is interested I am listed under the Newknitter!!!!

Hope everyone is having an awesome weekend!!

Kris 🙂

September 30, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Yay! You’ll enjoy Ravelry – there’s so much to see! I love the Lizard Ridge, that square has amazing colours. :0)

    Comment by Charity | September 30, 2007


Leave a Reply

